Recording technique

For da X, what do you think of this setup? What sort of mics are these? The fact that they are pointed suggests they’re cards, no? Also what’s the purpose of raising them above the lid, won’t that lead to a less focused sound?

1 Like

@xsdc. no comment?

Oh, I’m not subscribing to this forum section so the thread was invisible to me until you tagged me now.

It’s hard to say without knowing the room. Spontaneously I don’t believe in that at all, but if the acoustics are poor - which they often are in smaller rooms - it helps to put the mics closer to the piano, so it could be that in this hall this distance is the best compromise. But either way it won’t result in a good recording, only “better” than it would have been from a farther distance. I’ve also never been a fan of such high positions. I have no experiences of them when the mics are this close, but you sometimes see them at the Moscow Conservatory and Tokyo’s NHK Hall for instance where I think the recordings lack body when they do that (it’s not just the lid, the floor gives off strong bass reflexes as well you also move further away from by putting them high). Also harder to make swaths of sounds sound good, when the mics “see” the strings rather than the wood you tend to get an almost unnatural clarity. In piano it’s after all usually not the trees you want, but the forest.