Fatty and the Feux Follets - in search of carpal tunnel

I’ve been noodling casually for several months now. Ready for a big challenge so gonna relearn the Feux Follets. This was hardest thing I ever played. Some parts in muscle memory 15 yrs later but most will need reconstruction. Will document weekend study bringing it together. Below is a bit “so young” but a good starting game point I’m thinking.

1 Like

Rezpec! If u iz learnin diz n gettin bored wiz it at tymz yet ztill want to work on da zame tech - prax da :rocky: 23/9 alzo, tiz a tru gensui piece

Rezpek! I think it’s insanely difficult.

Tru, my slow RH thumb makes da opening of 25/6 mildly impossible. Da FF also a mildly unplayable sheeeyat fo moi

Really? You mean the “trill” or the upward chromatic run. With your tech, I find it hard to believe you can’t play 25/6. Randomly da TONY played a wikid FF when he was like 17.

Can’t do it, da damn trill. I can get by with da Wundah 24 15 method but… no way dat I can do it da standard way…

My left hand can do it like a mofo, ugh

But yeah, most of da 25/6 is comfy but not da opening sheeyat. Not fit fo a pubic (sic) perf

Fatty, I hear some misreads, so I’d recommend checking the score again closely. Left hand tied notes in the beginning etc.

1 Like

Yeah, this sort of a temperature test run through to see if could be possible. Gonna put it in the shop and hit it measure by measure with counting and the whole 9… I don’t have my old books so gotta think about fingering differently too with my older more stiff hands. Should be an interesting project.

I shit you not, just spent an hour on this minute of noodles trying to count AND play. FF lived up to rep - FUCK!

Goal is pages 1 and 8 down by end of next weekend in time, with minimal errors at comfortable tempo. Then one super hard page per 2 weeks going forward.

2 Likes

Rezpek!

Sounding good.