Memorization

Can anyone give me advice on memorization of piano music? I am basically self taught with a solid technique. I never really had a good teacher or studied at a music school. Thanks!

move thrd plz

fuck

now i alwayz have tiz predizpozition dat people who azk tiz kind of queztion are da TM in dizguize

but i iz actually quite interezted in tiz topic mazelf

I’ve seen memory experts who learn thousands of digits of pi and other mathematical feats so I wonder if someone has learned to do the same thing with piano scores.

well, I in no way claim to be anywhere near a good source of knowledge, but from my personal experience, chunking up the piece into manageable sections and memorizing each section has worked well for me. But then, afterward, you have to work out the transitions, so I’m not sure exactly how well it works in the long run. However, using that method got me the notes for Jeux D’eau memorized in about two weeks, which is like a record for me. My teacher also suggested to put sticky notes over every other measure and push yourself to remember, the switch which ones are covered. Never tried it, but sounds like there is some merit there.

I’m curious, though, as to what morsels of knowledge the legends of this forum might grace us with. :smiley:

Guys what do ya think? how many notes can Evgeny Kissin memorize?
Or Martha Argerich? or Yuja Wang?

Cuz we are talking about da pimpness here…

kind of a noob question, better would be how many pieces. I’ve always wondered whilst looking at a pianist rep, if they could play on command every piece, or is the rep just what they have played, and only a few are in working order. I’ve never been around too many great pianists, so I have no idea. I know that at max I’ve been able to have about 6 medium sized pieces in relatively good shape.

So I’ll redirect in a non my-cock-is-bigger-than-yours way, how many pieces have you guys been able to keep enjoyable at once? Koji? Jredmond? Slapnutz? anyone?!