Memory

How do you dudes memorize?
I can have every single note in my head then for some reason in performance, there will be a sudden moment when my mind goes blank. Or some dumb mistake will happen in practice that somehow lodges itself in my subconscious and ends up in performance.
It’s bloody annoying when you’re pleased with the rest of the performance but can’t get past these dam memory slips.

A pianist friend here once told me he memorizes a piece in three ways - muscle memory programming, what he called functional analysis (harmony, chord progression etc I guess) and one more which eludes me now… The idea was at least that if one fails, the other two will still keep you going.

As a happy amateur I stick to muscle memory alone, but as Pär also told me it’s the first one to give way if you get nervous - which I’ve certainly noticed. I rarely have memory lapses when playing alone, but as sson as there are people in the room… Another drawback is that it’s hard to get back on track again if you do lose your way. I’m working on Mozart’s little K.574 Gigue at the moment, and if I screw up, I can only really start again at the beginning of either section. I admire pianists who dare play things like the DWK in public for this reason, since memorywise it must be just about the most dangerous music of all to take to the concert halls.

There are even more sorts of memorizing: tactile-motorical, auditive, visual, analytical…
Best way is obviously to learn a piece a music so thoroughly that you know all notes, all details, all indications, all phrases, all fingerings and you have a perfect picture of the structure.
But even so, it’s no guarantee that you’ll never have a memory slip at one point during a performance. There are different rules when you are nervous, what helps is trying out the piece you play on different pianos and in different places.
Record the piece and analyse what parts you were not completely sure of the notes.