New Cuncerto

John Adams writing/written a new cuncerto for da Wang.

1 Like

Written in 2017-18 at the request of Yuja Wang, the new piano concerto is a twenty five-minute work in three movements, played without pause. The orchestration, in addition to solo piano, includes bass guitar and a specially detuned “honky-tonk” piano.

After the Los Angeles performances Yuja Wang and the L.A. Philharmonic will tour with the piece in Tokyo, New York, London, Edinburgh, Mexico City and elsewhere.

John Adams will conduct performances in 2020 with Jeremy Denk in the U.S. and with Vikingur Olafsson in Paris and Amsterdam.

First performance: March 7, 2019

Yuja Wang, pianist

Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel, conductor

Apparently da Adam’s zimilar to da tot.

I think Thomas Adès is a very interesting composer, heard some good stuff of him.

ahahaha lez hope diz not az ZHEEEYAT az da atlandick crozzin cunc :doc: :sunglasses:



1 Like

god the style of writing in that NYT piece is so pompous in a particular American way. It’s got that self-knowing pomp which is really insular.

Anyway lately I’ve been listening to quite a few of these modern PCs. Unsuk Chin’s is pretty awesome.

1 Like

Piemontesi did that here earlier this year. Apparently the hardest piece he’s played, worse than the Bartok-2.

1 Like

Here’s a list of modern PC’s you were after

1 Like

Mehldau’s new work

Mehldau Concerto

Brad Mehldau with Britten Sinfonia
The Barbican, London, UK, 16 March 2019

Brad Mehldau-piano
Clark Rundell-conductor
  1. Bach arr. Stravinsky Prelude and Fugue No. 10 in E minor
  2. Bach arr. Charles Coleman Prelude in B minor
  3. Brad Mehldau solo improvisations
  4. Bach arr. Webern Ricercar No. 2 From The Musical Offering, BWV 1079
  5. Brad Mehldau solo improvisations
  6. Bach arr. Berio Contrapunctus XIX From the Art of Fugue
    Brad Mehldau Piano Concerto:
  7. First Movement
  8. Second Movement
  9. Third Movement
  10. First encore Second Movement reprise
  11. Second encore Little By Little - Radiohead
1 Like

Here’s Gerstein’s Ades concerto with Ades conduction the BSO:


1 Like