Mystery Pianist Sunday

I got my hands on what seems to be a rare live recording. Any opinions on the playing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmXzdE2HE38

Lots of nerves & temperament/fury, sometimes at the expense of precision & clarity. When performing live, it’s so damn difficult to find a good balance!
From 4:36 really beautiful.

well said my man. I’m a fan of the fury. And you are a fan of this pianist too. Damn I don’t know why this wasn’t transferred from da rare LP. WTF.

I think I’ll flog this quiz on the YT public.

But Rozh died yesterday, not the most sensitive time to do it.

But I always got the feeling he made his wife very unhappy. Something about his stifling school-master way.

Probably shouldn’t guess from a distance.

Fuck, I’m not very good in these guessing games…no bells ringing yet.
Stanislav Neuhaus?

Honestly the ID isn’t so important (and I’m not good at this either). I was more curious about opinions of the performance, because I had a few reservations about the precision but then I remembered, ‘Oh yeah, maybe that’s why’.

It’s a lady pianist.

It sound like wild Argerich :slight_smile:
Rosa Tamarkina?
I guess someone from the Chopin competition.
Great perfromance. I would like to hear on some places more breathing and some parts are really wild, but second part is very beautiful and coda is amazing - it grows slowly, step by step. Very intuitive but clever performance.
(Sound reminds me on Bachauer)

If you’re mentioning Rozh, maybe Postinikova?

I like it, beginning a little less in your face than you hear and the coda had lots of passion. This an ignumov pupil?

I would guess this too. I have a few early Postnikova Chopin recs and they’re of similar intensity.

Kreso dropping the BOMB. Well done dude. It’s the wild and unforgettable Rosa Tamarkina.

I mentioned Postnikova just because she always looks so unbearably unhappy.